The National Collegiate Athletic Association - NCAA vector logo

The Associated Press announced on Wednesday the women’s basketball student-athletes named to the 2023-24 AP All-America teams, with statistics through regular-season and conference tournaments.

Iowa senior guard Caitlin Clark was honored for the third straight season as first-team Associated Press All-American, becoming the 11th player to earn that distinction three times. Clark, the NCAA’s all-time leading scorer, was a unanimous choice from the 35-member national media panel that chooses the Top 25 each week; she was also recently named a first team All-American by the USBWA while receiving National Player of the Year laurels from The Athletic, Sporting News and

Clark is joined by Stanford’s Cameron Brink, UConn’s Paige Bueckers and freshmen JuJu Watkins of USC and Hannah Hidalgo of Notre Dame. They are only the fourth and fifth freshmen to make the AP team, joining Oklahoma’s Courtney Paris, UConn’s Maya Moore and Bueckers.

Ohio State graduate student guard Jacy Sheldon earned second team All-America status after leading the Buckeyes to their first outright Big Ten regular season title in 14 years. It is her second time being recognized by the organization after being an honorable mention last year. Sheldon was voted a third team All-American by the USBWA and was a first team All-Big Ten selection this season.

Indiana graduate student forward Mackenzie Holmes is making her third appearance on an AP All-America team, this time with third team honors. She was tabbed as a first team selection in 2022-23 and an honorable mention in 2021-22. Holmes is a USBWA second team All-American and a unanimous first team All-Big Ten selection.

Sophomore Ohio State forward Cotie McMahon garnered the first AP recognition of her career with an honorable mention distinction. The first team All-Big Ten performer was an honorable mention All-America pick by the USBWA.

The quartet will be competing in the 2024 NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament with their respective teams – No. 1 seed Iowa, No. 2 seed Ohio State and No. 4 seed Indiana.

Editorial credit: Kiran Jyothi VP /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>